The above title is the headline used by the Citizen for the letter below, which I think says a lot about our politicians, especially the Liberal Democrats, who for years have struck me as lacking in principles, even for politicians:

   I THINK Jeremy Hilton’s embarrassing self-penned testimonial is simply that: an embarrassment rather than an indication of ‘dirty politics’.  Although the sad truth is that politics has itself become a dirty business.

  Anyone with true integrity would have no future in politics and probably would not contemplate it in the first place.

  Those who want change for the common good become activists. Those who want power become politicians.

  I used to think that the Liberal Democrats were the party of integrity. However, this is naive.  I recently had a copy of Focus pushed through my door.

  In it Chris Coleman, the Lib Dem candidate for the Forest claims, the Conservatives have joined a small fringe group of extremists in the European Parliament, implying that they are up to shady dealings of some kind or other (which I don’t doubt for a moment).

  I sent an email to Chris Coleman, asking for details, such as the name of this ‘extremist’ group so I could check it out. That was on February 27. I’m sure he will reply in due course but I won’t hold my breath.

  I quite often write to various poltical parties asking for their stance on various issues. Labour and Conservative always reply, albeit with a meaningless stream of “soundbites” that avoid the issues that I’ve asked about but at least they reply.

  I have also written to the Lib Dems on various issues. I have never had a reply from them.

  Perhaps they still have enough of a vestige of integrity to be reluctant to lie, and too much ambition to tell the truth so silence is the safest option.

  The problem is not with this party or that party. It is not even with this or that politican. It is with the whole nature of politics. The very phrase: “in power” says it all. They should be in service, not in power. Politics should be about serving the community for the greater good. Sadly, it is about manipulating society for their own interests and there is no political party that represents an exception to this.

  Democracy in our society is simply the process of choosing who is going to lie to us. 

Ron Tocknell

Lydney

