OK, because I said I would try to keep up with the blog, here’s that other thing about Asda and their automatic tills…

I was picking up some bits and pieces, just after tea, around 8pm, and the auto-till rejected my card. An assistant came over, and it was the usual thing, ‘could I pay any other way?’, which in this case meant cash, of which I didn’t carry much around on me.

Now, ten years back, this would have been pretty embarrassing for me, and I would have just counted my change and made a quick decision about what I should leave behind, just to put the situation behind me. What I did now was to not rush but instead take out my mobile and phone my wife to check the state of our account, and yes, she was adamant that we had more than enough to cover the purchase.

So I asked the assistant if my card might work with another till and she said no, it wouldn’t. All this time I’m putting the groceries back into the basket, so I can reswipe some of them and pay the cash. But I see an empty till, and the assistant has gone to assist someone else, so I think to myself, they’re not going to arrest me for this, so what the heck…

I use the other till, swipe everything, use the card, and it works just fine. I resist the urge to rub this fact in the assistant’s face as I leave…

This is worth mentioning because it’s the last five or six years of being forced to stand up to people in the community that I would not have said ‘boo’ to previously that has given me the confidence to stand up to commercial bureaucracy. Police officers, councillors, MPs, chairmen/women, people who park in front of schools… generally, the people who go through life thinking they are above criticism. People who know me should be aware that if they have problems getting answers from any of these people, they won’t get fobbed off if they ask for my support, and I won’t take the authority line at face value, because even technology fibs sometimes.

The Martin Luther line might sound a bit cheesy, but it accurately represents my position.

Next up (possibly); why the BBC’s attitude to social media has become a disgrace…

